SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following four Judicial Officers as Judges of the Orissa High Court:

- 1. Shri Satya Narayan Mishra
- 2. Shri Bibhu Prasad Routray
- 3. Shri Gautam Sharma, and
- Shri Biranchi Narayan Mohanty.

The above recommendation made by the Chief Justice of the Orissa High Court on 7th May, 2019, in consultation with his two seniormost colleagues, has the concurrence of the State of Odisha.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have consulted our colleague conversant with the affairs of the Orissa High Court. A copy of letter of opinion of our consultee-colleague received in this regard is placed below.

With a view to assess merit and suitability of the above-named recommendees for elevation to the High Court, we have carefully scrutinized the material placed on record. The Collegium has taken note of the observations made by the Department of Justice in the file as well as complaints received against the above-named recommendees. Apart from this, we considered it appropriate to invite all the recommendees for interaction with the Collegium. On the basis of interaction and having regard to all relevant factors, the Collegium is of the considered view that Shri Bibhu Prasad Routray, Judicial Officer (mentioned at Sl. No. 2 above) is suitable for being appointed as Judge of the Orissa High Court.

As regards S/Shri (1) Satya Narayan Mishra, (2) Gautam Sharma, and (3) Biranchi Narayan Mohanty, Judicial Officers, having regard to the material on record and all relevant factors, the Collegium is of the considered view that their cases deserve to be remitted to the High Court. The Collegium resolves to recommend accordingly.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Shri Bibhu Prasad Routray, Judicial Officer, be appointed as Judge of the Orissa High Court.

(Ranjan Gogoi), C.J.I.

(S.A. Bobde), J.

(N.V.Ramana), J.

October 03, 2019.